技術

領銜創新

Tacx 訓練台的操作原理

飛輪

剎車力和剎車功率

智慧技術

使用基本訓練台,讓您更有效率

虛擬功率

動態功率控制

定義踏頻

NEO 的操作原理

公路感覺

連接/移除技術

雙重技術

環保水壺

Tacx 訓練台的操作原理

所有的 Tacx 訓練台均為磁阻式訓練台,阻力由磁場產生。您可依需求精確設定訓練台的阻力,而磁場為可調式。結果會形成高功能、免接觸和免維護的阻力單位。
各種阻力單位類型生成不同的磁場,因此造成訓練台的功能和使用性不盡相同。

直驅式
把無後輪的自行車置於直驅式訓練台上;阻力會直接產生於後輪軸。打造出更真實和使用者友善的訓練台。因為沒有物理傳輸,所以不會產生任何功率損失,能提供極為真實的騎乘感受,並能正確測量您的速度、踏頻和功率。此外,輪胎不會磨損和打滑;此直驅式訓練台不需維護,而且您可輕鬆安裝自行車於台上。

馬達制動
馬達制動是最先進的阻力單位,能產生最貼近真實的騎乘感受。阻力由電動馬達計算和產生。馬達可抑制(剎車)和驅動車輪或鏈條,因此能模擬下降。車輪將會持續旋轉;如同在戶外,您不需要踩踏自行車。此下坡騎乘功能也可以真實模擬您踏板的死點。此外,馬達制動具備最強大的功率,可以在低速產生高阻力。因此馬達制動特別適合模擬陡峭爬坡。由於這些功能,配備馬達制動的 Tacx 訓練台非常適合越野階段的訓練。

無線馬達制動
無線馬達制動為配備發電機的電動馬達;您的踩踏會使馬達產生能量。訓練台使用該能量來傳遞和產生所需阻力。因為訓練台不需要外部電源,所以可依您喜好置於任何地方。

功率由您的動能產生,因此訓練台無法模擬下降。因為您沒有在踩踏,所以無法產生任何能量。

電子制動
電子制動具備一排電磁鐵和一排永久磁鐵,兩排中間則配備轉盤。只要透過電磁鐵增加或減少電流,即能自動設置阻力。

磁力剎車
阻力由永久磁性產生,因此配備磁性剎車的訓練台無須動力。Booster 配備兩排磁鐵;其他基本訓練台配備一排磁鐵和一顆碟盤。改變磁鐵位置即可增加或降低磁場,此動作是以控制桿手動設定阻力。
Satori Smart 配備長壽電池以便通訊。

飛輪

為了打造貼近真實的騎乘感受,所有 Tacx 訓練台均配備飛輪。當您在戶外騎乘並停止踩踏時,您的自行車不會立刻停止轉動。同樣的效果可見於您踩踏動作的死點。訓練台的飛輪能模擬動能造成自行車持續轉動的現象;此稱為飛輪效應或質量慣性。飛輪愈重,騎乘感受愈真實。

虛擬飛輪
Tacx 訓練台配備真實和虛擬飛輪。最棒的體驗是可以精準模擬自行車手的重量,這僅能依靠虛擬飛輪達成。在此情況下,訓練台模擬質量慣性,而非使用真正的飛輪來產生質量慣性。對比於真實飛輪,虛擬飛輪可以依照環境調整質量慣性;例如速度、坡度和重量。舉例來說,當您騎乘上山時,比起在平路的高速騎乘,會有截然不同的感受。因此,虛擬飛輪是打造理想騎乘體驗的最佳解決方案。

配備虛擬飛輪的訓練台為 NEO Smart 和 Genius 款型。Bushido Smart 結合了真實和虛擬飛輪。

剎車力和剎車功率

訓練台的剎車功率取決於訓練台的剎車力和質量慣性以及您的速度。舉例來說,NEO Smart 在時速 40 公里時能產生 2200 瓦功率,但 Vortex 在此速度下僅能產生 950 瓦。配備高剎車功率的訓練台能在低速產生高阻力,因此可真實模擬陡峭坡度。

剎車力愈高,即能在特定重量模擬更陡峭的坡度。舉例來說,NEO 擁有 250N 剎車力,因此在 75 公斤體重下,最大模擬真實坡度可達 25%。訓練台的剎車力以牛頓單位 (N) 表示,由造成阻力的結構來定義,像是磁鐵的種類和數量。精確模擬所需的剎車力由重量、坡度、空氣阻力和滾動阻力來定義。這些全部的因素都必須納入模擬考量。

質量慣性代表要使飛輪轉動或加速的所需能量。對比於真實飛輪,虛擬飛輪可以依照狀況改變質量慣性;例如速度、坡度和重量。因此,虛擬飛輪會調整以精確模擬自行車手的重量。打造出最真實的模擬情境。

智慧技術
Smart 技術意即使用 Smart 電子產品來通訊。Tacx Smart 訓練台可連接至任何裝置,且因為透過 ANT+ 和 Bluetooth® Smart 來通訊,因此可同時連接多台裝置。

Tacx Smart 訓練台擁有以下功能:
1. 開放式無線通訊
2. 測量和接收運動表現資料
3. 可更新韌體
4. 獨立訓練

啟用無線傳輸
提升 Tacx Smart 訓練台的功能,可與眾多裝置和應用程式通訊。如此一來,您幾乎可以使用任何訓練選項。可透過使用下方的標準無線通訊協定來達成:ANT+ FE-C 和 Bluetooth Smart 開啟。

ANT+ FE-C 協定
ANT+ FE-C 協定讓 Smart 訓練台能與桌上型電腦、自行車電腦和運動錶上的第三方軟體連接。互動式訓練台可由 Tacx 軟體或其他電腦軟體(例如 Zwift 和 Garmin Edge 520)來控制。

我們在 ANT+ 推出 ANT+ FE-C 協定後得以直接操作。成果:我們的室內訓練台為取得 ANT+ FE-C 認證的首例,並使用全新語言。ANT+ FE-C 代表「ANT+ 健身設備控制」。至今,多個品牌的訓練台仍以自身的語言溝通。因此,這些訓練台不瞭解彼此,也無法互相通訊。在訓練台和軟體執行全新語言-ANT+ FE-C 開放式設定檔,讓訓練台能互相傳遞和連接。

Bluetooth Smart
這又稱為藍牙 4.0 和藍牙低能量,可與智慧型手機、平板電腦和運動錶連接。互動式訓練台配備 Bluetooth Smart,可由 Tacx 應用程式和其他應用程式(例如 TrainerRoad 和 Kinomap)控制。

在建立 ANT+ FE-C 開放式協定後,我們開始建立藍牙的開放式協定。智慧型手機和平板電腦通常僅能接收藍牙訊號,無法接收 ANT+ 訊號。透過藍牙傳送與 ANT+ FE-C 協定相同的語言,Smart 訓練台也可以與在裝置上擁有藍牙接收器的第三方應用程式連接。此協定由 Tacx 建立,並提供給軟體製造商,因此每個人都可以連結 Tacx Smart 訓練台至自身選擇的軟體。

同時連接多台裝置
因為訓練台使用兩種通訊協定,所以可同時連接多台裝置。舉例來說,您可在平板電腦上的 Tacx 影片騎乘,同時在您自行車電腦的 Garmin Connect 內閱讀和儲存您的運動表現資料。如此一來,您可在喜愛的應用程式內追蹤您的運動表現。

測量和接收運動表現資料
所有 Tacx Smart 訓練台會測量您的速度、踏頻和功率,並透過 ANT+ 和 Bluetooth Smart 傳輸資料,因此可同時在多個裝置上接收資料。互動式訓練台也可以接收此類訊號來調整阻力。

若要接收您的心率,您會需要透過 ANT+ 或藍牙 4.0 來連接心率監測器。監測器會連接至您正在使用的應用程式,而應用程式會將心率資訊提供給訓練台。

可更新韌體
Tacx 持續致力於產品最佳化和提升訓練台功能。您可新增韌體改善(例如騎乘感受或額外功能)至您已經在使用的 Smart 訓練台,並搭配 Tacx Utility 應用程式。此免費應用程式已提供於 App Store 和 Google Play。在安裝應用程式後,您可測試有無提供韌體更新,如有,請直接升級您的訓練台。如此一來,您永遠可獲益於最新的韌體!

獨立訓練
Tacx Smart 訓練台也可在無連接至裝置的情況下使用;此時會模擬平路。非常適合簡易的短時間訓練,您只要上車、開始騎乘。

當您開始踩踏,訓練台即會辨識出未連線的狀態,並計算平路所需阻力。這樣做會將所有相關因素納入考量,像是滾動阻力和空氣阻力。確保提供平路上的真實模擬。阻力會逐漸變化:速度愈快,阻力愈高。

使用基本訓練台,讓您更有效率
基本的 Smart 訓練台透過 ANT+ 和藍牙測量您的運動表現資料並傳輸此資料。因此,您可連接訓練台至喜好的裝置,並在應用程式或您選擇的軟體接收此資料。使用控制桿變更訓練台的阻力,您可透過 Tacx Utility 應用應用程式免費升級韌體。

也有可能升級基本訓練台至 Smart 訓練台!連接速度和踏頻感測器至訊練台,您即可依照「虛擬功率」(您的功率估計)騎乘。Tacx 應用程式、Zwift 和 TrainerRoad 都能辦到。

虛擬功率
升級基本訓練台至 Smart 訓練台,使用 Tacx 應用程式、Zwift 和 TrainerRoad 來訓練。您僅需一台速度和踏頻感測器!

您會依照「虛擬功率」騎乘。此軟體依照您的速度和訓練台的阻力層級來估算您的功率。每一個訓練台擁有獨特的功率曲線,此曲線依照阻力單位的速度和位置而形成。多種軟體組合擁有所有基本 Tacx 訓練台的功率曲線。您需指示基本訓練台的位置,連結的感測器即會傳輸您的速度。此軟體則會計算您的功率。

「虛擬功率」標示了您產生的功率,讓您可使用最愛的應用程式來訓練,但此方法不如直接功率測量精準。

動態功率控制
互動式訓練台配備剎車力的動能控制,阻力會不斷經過計算和調整。當計算阻力時,自行車手在路上會遭遇的所有物理公式均會納入考量,以達成真實的模擬。空氣和滾動阻力、坡度、重量、氣壓、風速、溫度、高度和慣性都將納入考量,並以每秒數百次取樣的計算來獲取真實感受。

定義踏頻
Tacx 互動式訓練台無須感測器即能測量您的踏頻。訓練台持續偵測到您的速度,並使用此資料來定義您的踩踏動作。在踏板頂端的速度為零,在其他位置的速度則為最大值。因此,訓練台知道您何時完成一圈,並使用此資料來定義您的踏頻。

因為這樣的計算,所以無須外部感測器,但如有需要也可使用。

NEO 的操作原理
NEO 創新的操作原理為直驅式技術最純粹的形式。重要三元素打造 NEO 的獨特功能。

有效的功率流量設計
為了最佳化由踏板至馬達的功率效率,所有物理傳輸(例如輸送帶、滾輪或車輪)均不存在。因為沒有中斷或缺陷來干擾自行車手的功率流量,所以不會產生功率流失。造就極具效率的系統,在測量您的運動表現上,準確性誤差達卓越的 1%,而且無須校正。

此外,由於沒有傳輸,馬達每秒的轉速極低,能大幅降低回聲和噪音。讓 NEO 成為至今最安靜的室內自行車訓練台。

創新的馬達設計
NEO 的力量來自內含 32 個精準擺放磁鐵且環繞 30 個線圈的電動馬達。通過線圈的電流愈高,磁力會愈大且剎車功率愈高。此馬達可產生最高 2500 瓦的功率、扭矩為 85Nm,因此能在低速產生高阻力。這表示能真實模擬最陡峭的爬坡。

高智能
創新的功率流量設計和馬達設計結合高智能,表現更為卓越。此電子設備(尤其是韌體)創造了訓練台。以每秒千次的取樣來指定和控制所有旋轉零件的位置。此電子設備完全控制騎乘者雙腿的感受。

智慧設計和 Smart 電子設備的結合打造出獨特產品,讓 NEO 顯得出類拔萃。

NEO 配備以下功能,營造了真實的騎乘感受和方便使用:

下坡騎乘
虛擬飛輪
Plug in/plug out technology連接/移除技術
逼真公路感覺

公路感覺

NEO 是唯一擁有逼真公路感覺的訓練台,讓您體驗鵝卵石路面、泥地和其他路面的感覺。您能感受到如同戶外騎乘的道路震動。每條道路並非完美,因此會造成您的自行車震動。NEO 能夠模擬這些震動,透過持續控制馬達,將震動傳輸至您的自行車*。因此,當您騎乘於軟體內的鵝卵石道路上,您的雙腿會感受到震動。NEO 可模擬不同的路面:小鵝卵石、大鵝卵石、砂礫、泥土、混凝土板、攔畜溝柵和鋪路石。

此獨特的功能由 Tacx 開發,並僅配備於 NEO,因此讓其他訓練台難以匹敵。逼真公路感覺為室內騎乘提供了全新的視野,並提供於 Tacx Cycling 應用程式(影片**)、Tacx Trainer 軟體 4.0(影片和虛擬世界)與 Zwift。

* NEO 產生的震動不會損害自行車
** 僅特定影片提供逼真公路感覺。在應用程式或 Tacx 網站查看描述,瞭解影片是否提供逼真公路感覺。

連接/移除技術
無論有無插電,均可使用訓練台。在沒有插電的訓練台上騎乘時,其作用如同無線馬達制動(像是 Bushido)。永久馬達和電子設備會從您的動能產生能量,使訓練台可以與應用程式互相連接,並控制阻力單位。訓練台配備所有 Smart 功能,但您需要持續騎乘,以維持訓練台的通訊和控制。

若要取得最佳的騎乘體驗,我們建議您插電。若沒有插電,訓練台無法模擬下降,而當您停止踩踏時,訓練台會迅速停止。永遠能體驗逼真公路感覺。

雙重技術
有了雙技術,您可同時連接訓練台或感測器至多台裝置。如此一來,您可使用喜好的軟體來訓練,同時在您的自行車電腦或運動錶上接收您的運動表現資料。舉例來說,您透過智慧型手機,使用 Tacx Trainer 應用程式上的功率來訓練,並在您的 Garmin 運動錶接收同樣的瓦數。

Tacx Smart 訓練台和感測器透過 ANT+ 和 Bluetooth Smart® 來連接。多數的智慧型手機和平板電腦僅能接收藍牙訊號,但大部分的運動錶和自行車電腦均配備 ANT+。您可透過藍牙連接一台裝置,並透過 ANT+ 連接多台裝置。因為 Tacx 感測器透過雙管道傳輸同樣的訊號,您可連接任何喜好的裝置。您可透過選擇的雲端追蹤運動表現。舉例來說,您依照智慧型手機上 Tacx Training 應用程式之心率來訓練,同時在運動錶上的 Garmin Connect 接收您的心率。

請注意:若平板電腦的藍牙版本低於4.0,您可以使用專為此設計的接收器;iPad 請使用 Wahoo ANT+ dongle;若是擁有 Micro-USB 連接埠的平板電腦,請使用 Micro-USB Tacx ANT+ Dongle。

環保水壺
由於我們的環境承受愈來愈大的壓力,生物可分解塑膠是現代必需品。Tacx 肩負挑戰,致力於開發生物可分解且自然友善的水壺。

環保水壺擁有標準 Tacx 水壺的特色,但採用不同的塑膠來製作水壺:生物可分解塑膠。添加少量的生物批次材料會改變分子結構,使材料分解為生物氣體和生物質量。這些產物會滋養土地,並完全被大自然吸收。

When you want to purchase one of our products, you will be automatically redirected to Garmin.com. Here you’ll find the same products for the same price and the same level of service. Of course, you can still visit our site for the latest product and company info. 忽略

TECHNOLOGY

Driven by innovation

Tacx trainers’ working principle

The flywheel

Brake force & brake power

Smart technology

Train Smart with a basic trainer

Virtual Power

Dynamic power control

Defining cadence

Working principle of NEO

Road feel

Plug in/Plug out technology

Dual technology

Bio-bottle

Tacx trainers’ working principle

All Tacx trainers are magnetic trainers, the resistance is caused by a magnetic field. You can set the trainer’s resistance precisely as required as the magnitude of this field is adjustable. The result is a highly functional, contact- and maintenance-free resistance unit. The magnetic field is realized differently amid the various types of resistance units, causing a difference in the trainer’s functionality and usability.

Direct drive
The bike is placed in the direct drive trainer without its rear wheel; the resistance is applied directly to the rear axle. This causes a more realistic and user-friendly trainer. There are no transmissions causing any loss of power, ensuring a very realistic cycling feeling and accurate measurements of your speed, cadence and power. In addition, there is no wear and no slipping of the tyre; the direct drive is maintenance free and your bike is easily mounted on it.

Motor brake
The motor brake is the most advanced resistance unit producing the most realistic cycling feeling. The resistance is calculated and generated by an electromotor. The motor can both hold back (brake) and drive the wheel or chain, enabling the simulation of a descent. It will keep spinning; just like outdoors you do not have to pedal. This downhill drive feature also enables a realistic simulation of the dead point in your pedal stroke. In addition, the motor brake is the most powerful and can generate high resistance at low speeds. This makes the motor brake especially suited for simulating steep climbs. Due to these features, Tacx trainers with a motor brake are ideally suited for training on mountain stages.

Wireless motor brake
A wireless motor brake is an electromotor with a generator; it generates its own energy from your pedal stroke. The trainer uses this energy to communicate and produce the needed resistance. As the trainer does not require an external power source, it can be placed anywhere you like. As its power is generated from your movement, the trainer cannot simulate a descent. You are not pedalling, so it cannot generate any energy.

Electro brake
An electro brake features one row with electromagnets and one with permanent magnets, with a rotating disc in between. The resistance is set automatically by increasing or decreasing the current through the electromagnets.

Magnet brake
The resistance is realized by permanent magnets so trainers with a magnet brake do not require power. The Booster features two rows of magnets; other basic trainers feature one row of magnets and a disc. The magnetic field increases or decreases by changing the position of the magnets, which is done manually with a lever to set the resistance. The Satori Smart is equipped with a long-life battery to enable communication.

The flywheel

To make the cycling feeling as realistic as possible, all Tacx trainers are equipped with a flywheel. When you are cycling outdoors and stop pedalling, your bike does not stop rolling immediately. The same effect is seen in the dead point of your pedal stroke. The kinetic energy causing the bike to keep rolling is simulated by the trainer’s flywheel; this is called the flywheel effect or mass inertia. The heavier the flywheel, the more realistic the cycling feeling.

Virtual flywheel
Tacx trainers are equipped with an actual or a virtual flywheel. The best experience is achieved with an exact simulation of the rider’s weight, which is only possible with a virtual flywheel. In this case, the trainer simulates the mass inertia instead of producing it with an actual flywheel. In contrast to the actual flywheel, the virtual flywheel can adjust the mass inertia to the circumstances; like speed, slope and weight. For example, when you ride up a mountain you will experience a different cycling feeling than when you are riding with high speed on a flat road. Therefore, the virtual flywheel is the best solution for an optimal cycling experience.

Trainers equipped with a virtual flywheel are the NEO Smart and Genius models. The Bushido Smart is a combination of an actual and virtual flywheel.

Brake force & brake power

The brake power of the trainer is the result of the brake force and mass inertia of the trainer and dependent on your speed. For example, a NEO Smart is capable of generating 2200W at 40km/h, while a Vortex can power up to 950W at this speed. A trainer with high brake power can generate high resistance at low speeds, so it can realistically simulate steep inclines.

The higher the brake force, the steeper the incline can be simulated at a certain weight. For example, the NEO has a brake force of 250N and can therefore simulate a slope realistically up to 25% at a weight of 75kg. The trainer’s brake force, expressed in Newtons (N), is defined by the structural architecture that causes the resistance, like the kind and amount of magnets. Which brake force is required for an accurate simulation is defined by the weight, slope, air resistance and rolling resistance. All these factors are taken into account in the simulation.

The mass inertia represents the needed energy to set the flywheel in motion or accelerate it. In contrast to an actual flywheel, a virtual flywheel can change the mass inertia precisely to the conditions; like speed, slope and weight. Therefore, a virtual flywheel is adjusted to accurately simulate the rider’s weight. This results in the most realistic simulation.

Smart technology

Smart technology refers to the Smart electronics products use to communicate. Tacx Smart trainers can be connected to any device, and several devices simultaneously, as they communicate via ANT+ and Bluetooth® Smart.

Tacx Smart trainers are characterized by the following features:
1. Open wireless communication
2. Measuring and receiving performance data
3. Upgradable firmware
4. Standalone training

Open wireless communication
The functionality of Tacx Smart trainers is improved by enabling the communication with as many devices and apps as possible. This way you can use almost any training option. This is realized by using standardized wireless communication protocols: ANT+ FE-C and Bluetooth Smart open.

ANT+ FE-C protocol
The ANT+ FE-C protocol enables Smart trainers to communicate with third party software on desktops, bike computers and sport watches. The interactive trainers can be controlled by Tacx software, or other computer software like Zwift and the Garmin Edge 520.

We got to work directly after ANT+ launched the ANT+ FE-C protocol. The result: our indoor trainers are the first to be ANT+ FE-C certified and use the new language. ANT+ FE-C stands for “ANT+ Fitness Equipment Control”. Until now, trainers of various brands communicated in their own language. Therefore they did not understand each other and could not communicate. By implementing the new language – the ANT+ FE-C open profile – in trainers and software they are able to communicate and connect with each other.

Bluetooth Smart
This is also called Bluetooth 4.0 and Bluetooth low energy and enables communication with smartphones, tablets and sport watches. With Bluetooth Smart the interactive trainers are controlled by Tacx apps and other apps such as TrainerRoad and Kinomap.

After creating the ANT+ FE-C open protocol, we started creating an open protocol for Bluetooth. Smartphones and tablets can often only receive the Bluetooth signal, not the ANT+ signal. By sending the same language as the ANT+ FE-C protocol via Bluetooth, Smart trainers can also communicate with third party apps on devices that only have a Bluetooth receiver. This protocol has been created by Tacx and is available to software manufacturers, so that everybody can link a Tacx Smart trainer to the software of their choice.

Connect to multiple devices simultaneously
As the trainer uses both communication protocols, it can connect to several devices at the same time. For example, you can ride a Tacx Film on your tablet while reading and storing your performance data in Garmin Connect on your bike computer. This way you can keep track of your performance in your favourite apps.

Measure and receive performance data
All Tacx Smart trainers measure your speed, cadence and power and transmit this via ANT+ and Bluetooth Smart so that it can be received at several devices simultaneously. The interactive trainers can also receive these signals in order to adjust the resistance.

To receive your heart rate you will need a heart rate monitor that communicates via ANT+ or Bluetooth 4.0. The monitor is connected to the app you are using, and the app communicates this to the trainer.

Upgradable firmware
Product optimizations and improving the trainers’ functionalities is a continuous project at Tacx. You can add firmware improvements, for example for the cycling feeling or an extra feature, to the Smart trainer you are already using with the Tacx Utility app. This free app is available in the App store and on Google Play. After installing the app you can test whether there is a firmware update available and if yes, directly upgrade your trainer. This way you always profit from the latest firmware!

Standalone training
Tacx Smart trainers also function without being connected to a device; they will simulate a flat road. This is perfect for straightforward, short training as you simply get on and start riding.

As soon as you start pedalling the trainer recognizes it is not connected and calculates the needed resistance for a flat road. In doing so, it takes all relevant factors into account, like rolling resistance and air resistance. This ensures a very realistic simulation of a flat road. The resistance changes progressively: the higher your speed, the higher the resistance.

Train Smart with a basic trainer

A basic Smart trainer measures your performance data and transmits this via ANT+ and Bluetooth. This enables you to connect the trainer to the desired device and receive this data in the app or software of your choice. The trainer’s resistance is changed with a lever and you can upgrade the firmware free of charge via the Tacx Utility app.

It is also possible to upgrade a basic trainer to a Smart trainer! By connecting a speed and cadence sensor to the trainer you can ride based on Virtual Power, an estimation of your power. This is possible with Tacx apps, Zwift and TrainerRoad.

Virtual Power

Upgrade a basic trainer to a Smart trainer to train with Tacx apps, Zwift and TrainerRoad. All you need is a speed and cadence sensor!

You will ride based on Virtual Power. The software estimates your power based on your speed and the resistance level of the trainer. Each trainer has its own power curve, dependent on the speed and position of the resistance unit. The various software packages have the power curves of all basic Tacx trainers. You, yourself, indicate what position the basic trainer is in and the linked sensor transmits your speed. The software then calculates your power.

Virtual Power is an indication of your delivered power and enables you to train with your favourite app, but it is less accurate than a direct power measurement.

Dynamic power control

Interactive trainers feature a dynamic control of the brake force, the resistance is continuously calculated and adjusted. When calculating the resistance, all physical formulas a cyclist encounters on the road are applied to reach a true simulation. Air and rolling resistance, slope, weight, air pressure, wind speed, temperature, altitude and inertia are all taken into account and calculated hundreds of times per second to achieve a realistic feel.

dynamic-power-control

Defining cadence

Interactive trainers of Tacx measure your cadence without the help of a sensor. The trainer is constantly aware of your speed and uses this to define your cycling movement. The speed is zero at the top of the pedal stroke and it is maximal in between. Therefore, the trainer knows when you have made a full circle and uses this to define your cadence.

Because of this calculation there is no need for an external sensor, but this is possible if required.

cadence-calculation

Working principle of NEO

The innovative working principle of the NEO is the purest form of direct drive technology. Three important elements lead to the NEO’s unique features.

Efficient power flow design
To optimize power efficiency from pedal to motor, all physical transmissions, like a belt, roller or wheel, are eliminated. There is no loss of power as there are no disruptions or imperfections that interfere with the cyclist’s power flow. This results in a very efficient system that measures your performance with an exceptional accuracy of 1%, while there is no need for calibration.

Furthermore, due to the lack of transmissions, the motor’s revolutions per minute is very low, minimizing resonance and noise. This makes the NEO the most silent indoor bike trainer to date.

Innovative motor design
The NEO derives its strength from an electromotor containing 32 precisely positioned magnets that rotate around 30 coils. The higher the current through the coils, the larger the magnetic force and the higher the brake power. Its motor can generate a maximum power of 2500 watts with a torque of 85Nm, enabling high resistance at low speeds. This means that even the steepest climbs are realistically simulated.

Intelligent mind
The innovative power flow design and motor design are enhanced by a highly intelligent mind. The electronics, and especially its firmware, create the trainer. The position of all rotating parts are specified and controlled a thousand times per second. The electronics are 100% of the time in control of the feeling in the rider’s legs.

The combination of a smart design with Smart electronics create a unique product, making the NEO the only one of its kind.

Features equipped in the NEO that contribute to the realistic cycling feeling and ease of use are:

  • Downhill drive
  • Virtual flywheel
  • Plug in/plug out technology
  • Road feel

Road feel

The NEO is the only trainer featuring road feel, enabling you to experience the sensation of cobblestones, mud and other kinds of roads. You feel the road’s vibrations just like you would outdoors. Each road has certain imperfections causing vibrations in your bike. The NEO is capable of simulating these vibrations and transferring them to your bike* by continuously controlling the motor. Therefore, when you ride on cobbles in the software, you will feel it in your legs. The NEO can simulate different road surfaces: little cobbles, large cobbles, grit, mud, concrete plates, cattle grids and pavers.

This unique feature is developed by Tacx and only available for the NEO, which distinguishes it even further from other available trainers. Road feel provides a whole new dimension to indoor cycling and is available in the Tacx Cycling app (films**), Tacx Trainer software 4.0 (films and virtual worlds) and Zwift.

* The vibrations generated by the NEO do not harm the bike
** Only a selection of films feature road feel. Check the description in the app or the Tacx website to see if the film features road feel.

Plug in/Plug out technology

The trainer can be used with and without a plug. When riding on the trainer without a plug, it functions like a wireless motor brake (like the Bushido). The permanent motor and electronics are set to generate energy from your movement, enabling the trainer to communicate with apps and control the resistance unit. It features all Smart functionalities, but you will have to keep cycling to maintain the communication and control of the trainer.

For an optimal cycling experience we advise you to use the plug. Without one, it cannot simulate descents and when you stop pedalling the trainer will soon come to a stop. Road feel is always available.

Dual technology

With dual technology you can connect a trainer or sensor to multiple devices simultaneously. This enables you to train with your preferred software while receiving your data on your bike computer or sport watch. For example, you train based on power with the Tacx Trainer app via your smartphone and receive the same wattage on your Garmin sport watch.

Tacx Smart trainers and sensors communicate via ANT+ and Bluetooth Smart®. Most smartphones and tablets can only receive a Bluetooth signal, while most sport watches and bike computers feature ANT+. You can connect one device via Bluetooth and multiple devices via ANT+. As the Tacx sensors transmit the same signal via both channels, you can connect any favoured device. This enables you to keep track of your performance via the cloud of your choice. For example, you train based on heart rate with the Tacx Training app on your smartphone while you receive your heart rate in Garmin Connect on your sport watch.

Please note: if you are using a tablet with a Bluetooth version below Bluetooth 4.0 you can use a specially developed receiver. An iPad requires the Wahoo ANT+ dongle and a tablet with micro USB input requires the Tacx ANT dongle micro USB.

Bio-bottle

Biodegradable plastics are a modern necessity since our environment is under growing pressure. Tacx has taken up the challenge to develop a biologically degradable, nature-friendly water bottle.

The Bio-bottle has the same characteristics as the standard Tacx bottles but distinguishes itself by the plastic of the bottle: biodegradable plastic. Adding a small amount of the Bio-batch material alters the molecular structure, which makes the material decompose into Biogas and Biomass. These nourish the soil and are entirely absorbed by nature.